Bourg de Conthey
Implanté sur un promontoire naturel qui favorise sa défense, Le Bourg de Conthey a joué un rôle de premier plan pendant tout le Moyen-Age. Pour commémorer le 20ème anniversaire de leur association, les Amis du Patrimoine contheysan décident de mettre en valeur un montage photographique du Bourg médiéval. Le projet de créer un sentier didactique destiné à valoriser l'ensemble du site du Bourg était né et a été mis en place en été 2022.
Tour Lombarde (Lombarde Tower) is the link between the populations of
the plain, the hillsides and the villages on the heights of the
Conthey commune, and is therefore a privileged meeting point. Many
festivities unite the population in the town square, which used to be
a location for exchange and trade.
The breathtaking views and the development of the square make the former residence of the Counts of Savoy a perfect photographic location for special occasions such as weddings.
The Tour Lombarde formed the northwest corner of the fortifications built by Count Pierre II of Savoy during the 13th century. The only remains are the “Porte du Lac” (“Lake Door”), so called because of the water that protected the north side.
The adjoining building was rebuilt at the end of the 16th century. It has had several owners and has fulfilled many functions: private residence, Hall of Justice, communal house, school and dairy. Restored in the 1980s, then bought by the Bourgeoisie of Conthey in 1993, it now houses a cellar, to promote the wines and local products, as well as an art gallery and a meeting room that can be rented.
For more information, please go to : www.tourlombarde.ch
Ruines of the Château du Bourg
Overlooking the village of Bourg, medieval ruins remind you of the fortifications built by Count Peter II of Savoy. After the battle of the Planta in 1475, the castle was taken over and burned down by the patriots of the High-Valais and the troops of the Bishop of Sion.