Menu

Rhone Route

Rhone Route between Sierre and Martigny

Andermatt-Genève (Chancy)

 

The Rhone Route runs through the magnificent mountain scenery of the Valais on charming, quiet paths along the Rhone. It leads along the famous palm-lined promenades of Lac Léman and the picturesque Lavaux vineyards and ends at cosmopolitan Genève.

The Rhone Route runs through the magnificent mountain scenery of the Valais, embracing glistening Lac Léman.After treeless Alpine pastures in Urserental, a perspiring climb up Furkapass followed by a heady downhill ride past the melting ice towers of the Rhone Glacier. Through Goms, the wide, sunny high-level valley of the young Rhone. Flower-filled fields and the aroma of resin accompany you almost to Brig, the main town of the upper Valais.
 
The main valley widens, sun heats the mountain flanks. Before the lively towns of Sierre und Sion, an unruly section of the Rhone widens out; the Pfynwald nature reserve on a huge detritus mound. The Dents du Midi dominates the mountain scenery in the lower Rhonetal. A world of orchards and vineyards.
 
Lac Léman, a small silver sea, surrounded by snow-capped peaks and the vineyard landscape of Lavaux and La Côte. Along the shores, the towns of Vevey, Montreux, the Vaud metropolis of Lausanne, then Nyon and cosmopolitan Genève.

FR  DE  EN  IT
Menu

Rhone-Route

Rhone-Route zwischen Sierre et Martigny

Andermatt-Genève (Chancy)

Die Rhone-Route durchmisst das Wallis vor imposanter Bergkulisse auf reizvollen und ruhigen Wegen entlang der Rhone. Sie führt vorbei an den Palmenpromenaden des Lac Léman und den malerischen Lavaux-Rebbergen und endet in der Weltstadt Genf.

Die Rhone-Route beginnt mit einem zünftigen Aufstieg von den baumlosen Alpweiden des Urserentales hinauf auf den Furkapass. Die stiebende Abfahrt führt vorbei an den schmelzenden Eistürmen des Rhonegletschers. Wieder etwas gemächlicher geht es durchs Goms, dem weiten sonnigen Hochtal der jungen Rhone. Blumenwiesen und Harzduft begleiten Sie fast bis Brig, dem Hauptort des Oberwallis.
 
Das Haupttal wird breiter, die Sonne heizt die trockenen Bergflanken. Vor den lebensfrohen Städten Sierre und Sion breitet sich ein unbändiges Stück Rhone aus; das Naturreservat «Pfynwald», auf einem gewaltigen Schuttkegel. Die Dents du Midi dominieren die Bergkulisse im unteren Rhonetal. Es ist die Welt der Obstgärten und Weinberge.
 
Der Lac Léman ist ein kleines silbriges Meer, umgeben von Schneegipfeln und den Reblandschaften Lavaux und La Côte. Am Ufer entlang die Städte Vevey, Montreux, die lebhafte Waadtländer Metropole Lausanne, Nyon und die Weltstadt Genf.