Menu

Les églises

The St-Séverin Church


The St-Séverin bell tower is one of the most well preserved ancient buildings of Conthey. During the last restoration (1989-1992), the undertaken archaeological research uncovered a Roman church dating from the 12th century comparable to that of Saint-Pierre-de-Clages. Its significant parts such as the south and east walls as well as the bell tower were not replastered so that the curious visitors could see more clearly the history of the church.

Before the division of the parish and the creation of the Holy Family on the heights of the commune in 1928, the majority of the population of Conthey were members of this church. Its peripheral location may seem surprising. However, for eight centuries, it brought together the faithful of the Conthey territory except for the people of Plan-Conthey, Vétroz and Magnot. In many respects, it functioned as a regional centre and meeting point for the entire community.

The Sainte-Pétronille Chapel


The oldest chapel in Conthey is one of the rare baroque buildings still preserved in the Lower Valais. It was built and equipped with an altar around 1690 by the patrician Waldin family of Sion.

 

 

 


The Ardon-Magnot Church and its archaeological site


Dedicated to St-Jean the Baptiste and St-Jean the Evangelist, the Ardon-Magnot church contains numerous Roman relics discovered in the 19th century.

The church was somehow forgotten during the first half of the 20th century, but its renovation in 1959 permitted the rediscovery of the site and most of all revealed an impressive succession of pre-Christian and Christian buildings. This place of worship consists of a gothic bell tower, a nave and a neogothic choir.

The site is open to visits. It has a sound (French, German and English) and visual system as well as two information panels in French.

Every year, in June and December, the Ardon commune organizes St-John’s summer and winter celebrations.

The Vétroz church


There is virtually no information about the Vétroz church in the Middle Ages. In 1394, a secondary altar was founded, but the precise name of the saint was not known. The title of Magdalenian was then mentioned for the first time.

More details about the condition of the building and its furniture were given in a verbal process established during an Episcopal visit in 1615.

In 1919, on request from the commune, the architect Joseph Dufour wrote an alarming report. It mentioned the need to repair and strengthen the church as soon as possible. The parish then decided to build a new one. The project was given to François-Casimir Besson, an architect from Martigny. He envisioned a vast structure inspired by the neo-Roman times, but only the location plans, dated August 1921, were found.

Testimonies regarding this construction are very scarce. One can imagine that the parishioners were involved. The first stone was blessed on November 11th 1923 and the Bishop of Sion consecrated the new church on the 19th April 1923. Only the bell tower was preserved from the old sanctuary and serves as a porch-tower. The neo-Roman inspiration is obvious everywhere. The building was modernised in 1966 but the neo-medieval styles were only partially restored. This church is one of the most successful stories of neo-Roman architecture in the Valais.

Extract « L’église de Vétroz », Gaëtan Cassina, 1996

Menu
Terroir & patrimoineLes églises

Les églises

L’église de St-Séverin

L'un des anciens édifices contheysans les mieux conservés est le clocher de l'église de Saint-Séverin. Les recherches archéologiques entreprises lors de la dernière restauration (1989-1992) ont mis à jour une église romane datant du 12e siècle et comparable à celle de Saint-Pierre-de-Clages. Les parties significatives (murs est et sud ainsi que le clocher) n'ont pas été recrépies, afin que le visiteur curieux puisse comprendre son histoire.

Avant la division de la paroisse et la création de la Sainte-Famille, sur les hauts de la commune, en 1928, c'était l'église de la plus grande partie des Contheysans. Sa situation périphérique peut surprendre. Cependant, huit siècles durant, elle a rassemblé les fidèles du territoire contheysan, à l’exception de ceux  de Plan-Conthey, Vétroz et Magnot. A plus d’un titre, elle a fonctionné comme centre régional et comme point de rencontre de toute la communauté.

La Chapelle Sainte-Pétronille

La plus ancienne chapelle de Conthey est un des rares petits joyaux baroques encore conservés dans le Valais romand. Elle a été construire et pourvue d'un autel richement orné vers 1690, par les Waldin, une famille patricienne de Sion.

L’Eglise d’Ardon-Magnot et son site archéologique

Dédiée à St-Jean Baptiste et St-Jean l’Evangéliste, l’église d’Ardon-Magnot renferme de nombreux vestiges gallo-romains découverts au 19ème siècle.

Oubliés au cours de la première moitié du 20ème siècle, la rénovation de l’église en 1959 permet de les redécouvrir et surtout de mettre au jour une succession impressionnante d’édifices préchrétiens et chrétiens. Le site, qui peut se visiter, dispose d’un système audio (français, allemand, anglais) et visuel et deux panneaux explicatifs en français.

Ce lieu de cultes se compose d’un clocher gothique, d’une nef et d’un chœur néogothique.
Chaque année en juin et décembre, la commune d’Ardon fête les St-Jean d’été et d’hiver.

L’église de Vétroz

Il n’existe pratiquement pas d’information sur l’église de Vétroz au Moyen Age. En 1394, un autel secondaire, dont le vocable n’est pas précisé, est fondé, le titre magdalénien est mentionné alors pour la première fois.

Force détails, sur l’état de l’édifice et de son mobilier, sont donnés dans un procès verbal établi lors d’une visite épiscopale en 1615.

En 1919, sur la demande de la commune, l’architecte Joseph Dufour dresse un rapport d’expertise alarmant, invitant à réparer et à consolider l’église dans les plus brefs délais. La paroisse décide alors d’en édifier une nouvelle. La réalisation est confiée à l’architecte François-Casimir Besson de Martigny. Il imagine un vaste édifice d’inspiration néo-romane dont seul le plan de situation, daté d’août 1921, est connu.

Les témoignages sur cette construction font défaut. On peut imaginer que, selon la coutume, les paroissiens sont mis à contribution. La première pierre est bénite le 11 novembre 1921. La nouvelle église est consacrée par l’évêque de Sion, le 29 avril 1923. De l’ancien sanctuaire, seul le clocher a été conservé, il sert de clocher-porche. L’inspiration néo-romane s’affiche partout. L’édifice a été modernisé en 1966, les styles néo-médiévaux sont en partie réhabilités. Cette église est l’un des témoignages les plus aboutis de l’architecture néo-romane en Valais.

Extrait de « L’église de Vétroz », Gaëtan Cassina, 1996