Menu

Cooperative Biofruit-Vétroz

Implanted in the heart of the orchard in Vétroz, Biofruits SA is an organisation that regroups and commercialises the vegetable and fruit production of 9 producers of the French speaking part of the Valais.

Conservatory orchard of the Valaisan fruit trees inaugurated in Vétroz

The association and foundation “Rétropomme, for the safeguarding of the fruit heritage of Western Switzerland”, was set up in 1987 in Vétroz. The “verger conservatoire valaisan” (Valaisan conservatory orchard) is a veritable living museum of the Valaisan fruit trees and has an area of two hectares. It was inaugurated on 10th September 2011.

In 2003, the “conservatory orchards” were created to ensure the conservation and distribution of the regions fruit varieties. The association “Rétropomme” tried to inventory the standing trees in Western Switzerland giving priority to the ones that still had an identity. The archives of the bourgeoisie and the families were consulted in order to record the story of a variety in traditions of the region.

In the Valais, the Rhone is one of the most favourable areas to cultivate fruit. The dryness and low rainfall create ideal conditions for the cultures without the use of pesticides. The “verger conservatoire valaisan” (Valaisan conservatory orchard) is the 5th in Western Switzerland (French speaking part). It came after those in cantons Jura, Neuchâtel, Fribourg and Vaud. Over 500 fruit trees and 140 varieties, consisting of apple, pear, apricot, cherry, sour cherry, plum and peach trees constitute a living museum of the Valaisan fruit heritage.

For more information and tours, please go to:  http://www.biofruits.ch

Menu

Coopérative Biofruit-Vétroz

Implantée au coeur des vergers à Vétroz, Biofruits SA est une organisation qui regroupe et commercialise la production de fruits et légumes biologiques de 9 producteurs du Valais Romand.

Verger conservatoire des arbres fruitiers valaisans inauguré à Vétroz  

L’association et fondation Rétropomme « pour la sauvegarde du patrimoine fruitier de Suisse romande », fondée en  1987, a créé un véritable musée vivant des arbres fruitiers valaisans à Vétroz. L’inauguration du « verger conservatoire valaisan », d’une surface de deux hectares, a eu lieu samedi 10 septembre 2011. 

La mise en place des   « vergers conservatoires », dès 2003,  vise à assurer la conservation et la diffusion des variétés fruitières anciennes de nos régions. L’association Rétropomme s’est attachée à inventorier, dans toute la Romandie, les arbres sur pied, en donnant la priorité à ceux portant encore une identité. Les archives des bourgeoisies et des familles ont été consultées pour inscrire à nouveau l’histoire d’une variété dans les traditions d’une région.

Pour le Valais, la plaine du Rhône est une des régions les plus favorables à la culture fruitière. Les conditions idéales pour des cultures sans pesticides sont assurées entre autre par la sécheresse de l’air et les faibles précipitations. Le « verger conservatoire valaisan » est le 5ème en Suisse romande. Il fait suite à ceux du canton du Jura, de Neuchâtel, de Fribourg et de Vaud. Plus de 500 arbres de 140 variétés fruitières, composées de pommiers, de poiriers, d’abricotiers, de cerisiers, de griottiers, de pruniers et de pêchers, constituent un véritable musée vivant du patrimoine fruitier valaisan.

Renseignements - visites :  http://www.biofruits.ch

>